Effective December 1, 2018, the Kansas Highway Patrol (KHP) and KDOR/DMV now require the $20 fee for MVE-1 out-of-state vehicle inspections and the $25 fee for rebuilt salvage inspections previously paid to the KHP at the time of inspection to now be collected when the vehicle is titled at either a County Treasurer’s office or Kansas Vehicle Title Service Company (KVTSC). This change does not include inspections performed by KHP designees, i.e. local law enforcement (pink MVE-1) and new vehicle dealer program vehicle self-inspectors (green MVE-3). These designees will purchase their inspection forms directly from the KHP and in turn collect the fee from the vehicle owner.
The KHP will continue to provide title applicants with an MVE-1 (white MVE-1) at the time of the inspection as this form must be included with the title application. Authorized parties (i.e., dealerships, title services, mechanics, tow services, salvage pools, etc.) who submit title applications for vehicles that have been inspected by the KHP need to add to their payment to KVTSC the $20 fee for MVE-1 out-of-state vehicle inspections or the $25 fee for rebuilt salvage inspections (this is an addition to the applicable transaction fee). The MVE-1 fees cannot be adjusted off of a transaction for any reason. Discrepancies in fees charged by the KHP will need to be separately addressed with the KHP.
The KVTSC Office is located at 2127 SW 37th Street in Topeka (see map with directions here). Our business hours are Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Please be advised that the Kansas Department of Revenue (KDOR) has revised their Manual Title Application Form (TR-720b) for Secured, Duplicate, and Reissue Title Applications.
This revision removed language from the instructions that stated that previous versions of the form could be used if it had all the information contained on the new form. The Division also added a place for the IRP/CMV Acct. # and US DOT # below the Name and Address information on the face of the form (instructions are included on the second page).
This revised form can be found on the Division of Vehicle’s website here as well as on the KVTSC Website. To avoid having an application rejected due to the use of out of date form(s), we suggest you regularly check the Division’s or KVTSC’s website to see if the forms you are using have been recently revised.
We recommend you begin utilizing this new form immediately, however the Division will grant a grace period and accept any “old” forms within 60 days of the form’s revision date (9/16).
If you have questions or concerns, please let us know!
The Kansas Department of Revenue (KDOR) has developed a new form titled “Affidavit of Correction, TR-292” which they are requiring customers to utilize anytime they are applying for a correction of a vehicle’s assignment or odometer, whether that be at Kansas Vehicle Title Services Company, KDOR, or County Treasurer Offices. This form replaces any Affidavit of Correction form you may have been using.
This form must be utilized for all Title Correction Applications beginning November 14, 2016. You can find this form on the Division of Vehicles website, here.
If you have any questions or concerns, please let us know.
Since opening in January of this year, Kansas Vehicle Title Services Co, LLC (KVTSC) has been committed to providing its customers with the best possible service. See what one KVTSC customer recently said about KVTSC:
Since the transition from Docking building to here, I just wanted you to know that this is the true meaning of “from night to day”. From the well-lit office to the uplifting attitude of the employees; this is how progress has come to fruition. Thanks to whoever made this possible!
To help us continue improving our services, we would welcome your feedback as well. Please take a couple minutes to complete this short anonymous survey to let us know about your experience utilizing KVTSC and provide suggestions for improvements.
As you know from our communication last month, as of June 1, 2016 the forms you submit to KVTSC must be the most current forms either issued or approved by the Division of Vehicles in order for KVTSC or County Treasurer offices to process your title applications.
Over the past week, we have received several inquiries regarding this new requirement. To help ensure your title work is processed in a timely manner, below are some tips to help you in completing the necessary forms.
- The date next to the signature on all forms must be completed along with the signature on all forms.
- The date of the transaction is important when determining which version of the form must be used. Therefore, KVSTC will use what we are going to call the pertinent date. The pertinent date for each transaction type can be different. Below is how the pertinent date will be determined for each transaction types:
- For transfer of ownership, the date the title assignment is signed is the pertinent date. (i.e., dealer title only, salvage title and junking/nonrepairable certificate.)
- For duplicate/replacement title applications, the date the application (TR-720B) is signed is the pertinent date.
- For mechanic and possessory lien title applications, the date the vehicle was left for repairs or towed is the pertinent date.
- For repossession title applications, the date the vehicle was repossessed is the pertinent date.
- For lien releases, the date the release was notarized is the pertinent date. If the lien release is from an out of state lien holder, the requirements of the jurisdiction in which the lien holder is located are the determining factors for proper forms.
- When the Division of Vehicles revises a form, the previously approved form will still be valid for 60 days following the date the new form was revised.
- KVTSC encourages its customers to use a general power of attorney (TR-41) instead of an authorization (TR-134) for transactions such as, but not limited to, a duplicate/replacement title. This way, if a form needs to be signed and/or corrected, you can act for the owner. Please note that a General Power of Attorney can be copied or faxed, however, a Secure Power of Attorney must be the original or carbon copy page when utilized.
- As mentioned before, please use the Division of Vehicles web page, http://www.ksrevenue.org/forms-dmv.html, to determine the latest form revision dates.
- Except for the title assignment and/or the Odometer Disclosure Statement (TR-59), the name on a form can be either hand printed or typed. Both first and last names are required. Any document with odometer disclosure information will require the buyer and seller to both hand print (not type) and sign their names.
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us via email at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 785-215-8430. Thank you for your cooperation with this matter.